MATH426H/PHYS408H Studio Calculus/Physics Schedule

Spring 2006




Instructors:
Teaching Assistants:
Syllabus: pdf (150 kB)



Joint Phys/Calc classes are in blue

Physics classes are in green

Calculus classes are in red

SWBAT := Students Will Be Able To

The reading assignments are to be completed before class

Week 1

Mon, 01/16/2006 N01 Martin Luther King, Jr. Day, no classes
Tue, 01/17/2006 P01 (Classes begin) Review of Equilibrium
SWBAT:
  • Define different types of equilibria.
  • Identify forces and torques that balance.
  • Understand that hinges, pins, etc. can provide forces in all direction, but pedestals on push up/down.
  • Solve standard 1- and 2-d problems.
Reading: HRW7 Ch. 12.1 - 12.6
Activity: HRW7 Problems 12: 6, 7 and 21
Wed, 01/18/2006 C01 Complex Numbers I
  • Feel comfortable with the notation.
  • Add, subtract, multiply and divide complex numbers.
  • Represent complex numbers on the plane and think of complex numbers as vectors.
  • Take a complex conjugate.
  • Use "i" to stand for the square root of negative one.
Reading: Appendix in Steward
Thu, 01/19/2006 P02 Introduction to Oscillations
  • Pick off amplitude, period, phase, frequency given x(t).
  • Recall relations between period, frequency, and angular frequency.
  • Understand qualitatively the effect of the mass and the spring constant on the motion.
Reading: HRW7 Ch. 15.1 - 15.3
Activity: "Description of Harmonic Motion of Spring" and "Investigating Parameters of Motion of Spring"
Fri, 01/20/2006 C02 Complex Numbers II
  • Express complex numbers in terms of angle and magnitude.
  • Use a Taylor series to derive the Euler formula that links exponentials to sines and cosines.
  • Begin to do operations on complex numbers that are in exponential form.
Reading:

Week 2

Mon, 01/23/2006 C03 Complex Numbers III
  • Take roots of complex numbers.
  • Begin to be able to solve linear differential equations with constant coefficients using the guess x = R exp(nt). This is used in the next physics class and an upcoming joint class.
Reading:
Tue, 01/24/2006 P03 Dynamics of Oscillations
  • Find the differential equation knowing the forces.
  • Solve the differential equation using x = R exp(nt) which was introduced in Calculus.
  • Go back and forth between exponential and trigonometric functions.
  • See the role of initial conditions in the solution.
Reading: HRW7 Ch. 15.4 - 15.9
Activity: "Forces for Object on a Spring" and "Physical Pendulum"
Wed, 01/25/2006 C04 Differential Equation and Taylor Series

Students see the differential equation for simple harmonic motion solved using Taylor series. Also students see that the solution does not always converge.

Reading: Steward 12.10
Thu, 01/26/2006 P04 Introduction to Waves
  • Distinguish between different types of waves.
  • Distinguish between wave and particle motion.
Reading: HRW7 Ch. 16.1 - 16.3
Activity: "Wave Velocity/Particle Velocity"
Fri, 01/27/2006 J01 Fourier Series

Students will be introduced to the idea of Fourier series and get a bit of experience in calculating Fourier coefficients. This will be followed up with integration of trigonometrical functions in the next calculus class.

Reading: HRW7 Ch. 16.9 and Steward 8.2
Activity: "Fourier Series"

Week 3

Mon, 01/30/2006 J02 Problem Solving: Damped Simple Harmonic Motion (SMH)

Students try to find the smallest value of magnetic damping that meets certain design specifications. This is a chance to solve a slightly more difficult differential equation.
Knowledge of the details of magnetic damping are not needed.

Reading: HRW7 Ch. 15.8
Activity: "Damped Harmonic Motion"
Tue, 01/31/2006 P05 Mathematical Description of Waves
  • Translate between words, plots and/or equations description of waves.
Reading: HRW7 Ch. 16.4 - 16.8
Activity: "Understanding the Sign in the Phase", HRW7 Problems 16: 19 and 79
Wed, 02/01/2006 C05 Trigonometric Integrals
  • Integrate products of two sine or cosine functions as is needed for the calculation of Fourier coefficients.
Reading: Steward 8.2
Thu, 02/02/2006 P06 Superposition of Waves & Resonance (Prof. Olof Echt)
  • Determine the effective mass of a spring by comparing the measured and calculated period
  • Comfirm that the effective spring mass is of order of 1/3 of the real spring mass
  • Calculate resonance frequencies for a string
Reading: HRW7 Ch. 16.9 - 17.8
Activity: "Resonance an a String"
Tutorial: "Superposition and Reflection" (parts II and III)
Fri, 02/03/2006 C06 Introduction to Series and Sequences

Students are introduced to sequences of numbers and the question of convergence. They look at a few sequences and try to determine convergence.

Reading: Steward 12.1

Week 4

Mon, 02/06/2006 C07 Geometric Series
  • Recognize geometric series.
  • Be able to determine if a geometric series converges or diverges.
Reading: Steward 12.6
Tue, 02/07/2006 P07 Kinetic Theory of Gases (Prof. Dawn Meredith)
  • Make a connection between temperature and average kinetic energy.
Reading: HRW7 Ch. 19.1 - 19.6
Activity: "What is Temperature?"
Wed, 02/08/2006 C08 Integral Test and u-Substitution
  • Use the integral test to show convergence or divergence.
  • Understand the value of u-substitution in integration.
Reading: Steward 5.5 and 12.3
Thu, 02/09/2006 P08 Specific Heat and Heat Transfer (Prof. Dawn Meredith)

Students get another chance to look at conservation of energy through the lens of heat transfer and phase change.

Reading: HRW7 Ch. 18.1 - 18.10
For a more fundamental description of specific heat consult Ch. 19.9 - 19.10.
Activity: HRW7 Problems 18.31 and 40, and Sample Problem 18-5
Fri, 02/10/2006 J03 open

Week 5

Mon, 02/13/2006 C09 Direct and Limit Comparison Test
  • Use these two tests to check for series convergence.
Reading: Steward 12.4
Tue, 02/14/2006 P09 Physics Review - Oscillations & Waves
Wed, 02/15/2006 C10 Calculus Review
Thu, 02/16/2006 C11 u-Substitution and Change of Variables
  • Use this technique to integrate.
Reading: Steward 5.5
Fri, 02/17/2006 J04 First Exam
Calculus: Thursday 12:40pm - 2:00pm in Horton 215
Physics: Friday 9:10am - 11:00am in DeMeritt 104 & 106

Week 6

Mon, 02/20/2006 P11 Introduction to Electrostatics
  • Define "same charges".
  • Explain and give evidence for the principle of superposition.
  • Understand induced charge and its effects.
  • Solve a three body equilibrium problem.
Reading: HRW7 Chapter 21
Tutorial: "Charge" I, II, and III
Tue, 02/21/2006 P12 Coulomb Force and Gravitational Force
  • Apply Newton's laws to situations that include Coulomb and/or Gravitational Forces.
  • Students know how to find the net force on a charged particle/planet using vector addition.
Reading: HRW7 Chapter 13
Activity: "Electrostatic Equilibrium" and "Net Electrostatic Force"
Tutorial: "Charge" IV
Wed, 02/22/2006 C12 Trigomometric Substitution
  • Use this technique to integrate.
Reading: Steward 8.3
Thu, 02/23/2006 P12 Introduction to E field

This conceptual introduction to flux should be done before the mathematical calculations of flux.
  • Define the electric field.
  • Interpret electric field lines.
  • Point out incorrectly drawn field lines.
  • Estimate flux through a surface.
Reading: HRW7 Ch. 22.1 - 22.4 and Ch. 23.1 - 23.3
Activity: "Electric Field"
Tutorial: "Electric Field and Flux" I and III
Fri, 02/24/2006 J06 Comet Problem - Part I

Students get a chance to put together gravitational force and work-energy theorem to solve a problem.

Reading: HRW7 Ch. 13.1 - 13.4, 13.6
Activity: "How fast in the Comet going?"

Week 7

Mon, 02/27/2006 C12 Flux through a Surface of Revolution
  • Calculate the flux through a surface of revolution due to a point charge.
Reading: "Flux through a Surface", Activity Book pages 137-145
Tue, 02/28/2006 J07 Electric Field due to a Bar of Charge
Hand in one write-up per group.
  • Use superposition and knowledge of Reimann sums and integrals to calculate the E field due to a uniform charge distribution.
Reading: HRW7 Ch. 22.5 - 22.8
Activity: "E field due to bar of charge"
Wed, 03/01/2006 P13 Gauss' Law I
  • Estimate flux through a surface using Gauss' law.
  • See why Gauss' law still holds even if the charge is outside the surface.
Reading: HRW7 Ch. 23.4 - 23.5
Activity: "Electric Dipole"
Tutorial: "Gauss' Law" I and II
Thu, 03/02/2006 P14 Gauss' Law II
  • Explain why symmetry plus Gauss' law can help us calculate E in a few special cases.
  • Understand why it is useful in ONLY these three cases for finding E.
Reading: HRW7 Ch. 23.6 - 23.9
Activity: "Gauss' Law and Symmetry" and "E field calculations using Gauss' Law"
Fri, 03/03/2006 C13 Flux through a Plane due to a Point Charge
  • Calculate the electric flux through an infinite plane.
  • Calculate the electric field through an infinite uniform plane of charge.
Reading: "Flux through a Surface", Activity Book pages 137-145

Week 8

Mon, 03/06/2006 J08 Motion in an Electric Field and Comet Problem - Part II

Students will get a chance to see again that the motion is not necessarily in the direction of the force, and see how to solve a differential equation numerically and check the answers for reasonableness.

Activity: "Motion in an Electric Field (17)" and "When will the Comet hit?"
Tue, 03/07/2006 P15 Electric Potential I
  • Calculate the electric potential for groups of point charges, simple charge distributions and symmetric charge distributions.
Reading: HRW7 Ch. 24.1 - 24.3, 24.6 - 24.9, and 22.9
Activity: "Motion in an Electric Field (23)", "Motion in a Gravitational Field", "Calculating V due to Point Charges", and "Calculating V due to Charge Distributions"
Wed, 03/08/2006 C14 Partial Fractions
  • Decompose a ratio into a partial fraction.
  • Use partial fractions to integrate.
Reading: Steward 8.4
Thu, 03/09/2006 P16 Electric Potential II
  • Interpret equipotential curves.
  • Calculate V for an infinite cylinder.
  • Verify V between two concentric hoops.
Reading: HRW7 Ch. 24.4 - 24.5 and 24.10 - 24.12
Activity: "Visualizing the Potential" and "Electric Potential for a Cylinder"
Fri, 03/10/2006 C15 (Mid-semester) Integration by Parts I
  • Use integration be parts to calculate center of mass.
  • Use integration be parts to find Fourier coefficients.
Reading: Steward 8.1

Week 9

Mon, 03/13/2006 N02 Spring Break
Tue, 03/14/2006 N03 Spring Break
Wed, 03/15/2006 N04 Spring Break
Thu, 03/16/2006 N05 Spring Break
Fri, 03/17/2006 N06 Spring Break

Week 10

Mon, 03/20/2006 C16 Integration by Parts II
  • Practice with integration by parts.
  • Use it twice to solve an integral.
Reading: Steward 8.1
Tue, 03/21/2006 P17 Physics Review - Thermodynamics & Electrostatics
Wed, 03/22/2006 C17 Calculus Review
Thu, 03/23/2006 P18 Capacitance I
  • Understand the role of a capacitor in a circuit.
  • Explain why capacitance depends only on geometry and not on charge or voltage.
Reading: HRW7 Ch. 25.1 - 25.3
Activity: "Infinite Sheets of Charge" and Tutorial "Capacitance" II
Fri, 03/24/2006 J09 Second Exam
Calculus: Thursday 12:40pm - 2:00pm in Horton 215
Physics: Friday 9:10am - 11:00am in DeMeritt 104 & 106

Week 11

Mon, 03/27/2006 C18 Root and Ratio Test
  • Prove convergence or divergence of a series using root, ratio, and previously discussed convergence tests.
Reading: Stewart 12.6 and 12.7
Tue, 03/28/2006 P19 Capacitance II
  • Recognize capacitors in series and in parallel, even if the circuit is drawn in a messy way.
  • Find the equivalent capacitance for a complicated circuit.
  • Understand the role of a dielectric material in a capacitor.
Reading: HRW7 Ch. 25.4 - 25.7 (25.8 recommended for Physics and EE students)
Activity: "Untangling circuits" and "Capacitors w/dielectric" and Problems on equivalent capacitance
Wed, 03/29/2006 C19 Power Series and Alternating Series
  • Be able to check the interval of convergence of a power series, including checking the endpoints.
Reading: Stewart 12.5 and 12.8
Thu, 03/30/2006 P20 Introduction to Resistors and Kirchhoff's Laws
  • Understand the basics of resistors in series and parallel.
  • Understand that current is not used up.
  • Understand that Kirchhoff's laws are really conservation of energy and charge.
Reading: HRW7 Ch. 26.1 - 26.7 (26.8 + 26.9 recommended for Physics and EE students)
Activity: Tutorial "A model for circuits Part 1: Current and resistance"
Fri, 03/31/2006 J10 Neon Lights

Students use their understanding of energy and the electric potential to understand energy transitions in a neon atom.

Activity: "Neon Lights"

Week 12

Mon, 04/03/2006 C20 Differential Equation for RC Circuits I
  • Write down the differential equation for a multi loop RC circuit.
Find qualitative solutions only for such systems of equations.
Reading:
Tue, 04/04/2006 P21 Resistors II
  • Conceptually use the loop rule to predict circuit behavior.
  • Find the equivalent resistance.
Reading: HRW7 Ch. 27.1 - 27.6
Activity: "Amperemeters and Voltmeters", Tutorial "A model for circuits Part 2: Potential difference", and Problems on equivalent resistance
Wed, 04/05/2006 C21 Differential Equation for RC Circuits II
  • Write down the differential equation for a single loop RC circuit.
Solve the inhomogeneous differential equation using integrating factors.
Reading:
Thu, 04/06/2006 P22 Kirchhoff's Laws
  • Analyze a moderately complicated circuit (two to three loops) using Kirchhoff's laws.
Reading: HRW7 Ch. 27.7 + 27.8
Activity: Standard book problems on Kirchhoff's laws
Fri, 04/07/2006 J11 Charging and Discharging RC Circuits I
  • Understand an RC circuit conceptually and mathematically.
Reading: HRW7 Ch. 27.9
Activity: "Discharging an RC circuit" and "Charging an RC circuit"

Week 13

Mon, 04/10/2006 C22 Polar Coordinates I
  • Convert a function from carthesian to polar coordinates.
  • Plot a function in polar coordinates.
Reading: Stewart 11.3
Tue, 04/11/2006 P23 Charging and Discharging RC Circuits II
  • Understand an RC circuit experimentally.
Reading: HRW7 Ch. 27.9
Activity: "Designing an RC circuit"
Wed, 04/12/2006 C23 Polar Coordinates II
  • Calculate arc length and work in polar coordinates.
Reading: Stewart 11.4
Thu, 04/13/2006 P24 Introduction to Magnetism
  • Draw distinctions between electrostatics and magnetism.
  • Sketch the lines of magnetic force.
  • See the effect of a magnet on the motion of a beam of electrons.
Reading: HRW7 Ch. 28.1 - 28.3
Activity: "Investigating Magnets"
Fri, 04/14/2006 J12 Projects

Week 14

Mon, 04/17/2006 C24 Limits Redux I

Students revisit the idea of limits in a more rigorous way than before, using the electric potential due to a bar of charge as a specific example.

Reading: Stewart 2.2 and 2.5
Tue, 04/18/2006 P25 Physics Review - Circuits
Wed, 04/19/2006 C25 Calculus Review
Thu, 04/20/2006 P26 Motion in a Magnetic Field
  • Explain why a charged particle will move in a circle in a constant B field.
  • Explain how we know from the Hall effect that the electrons carry current, and not the protons.
Reading: HRW7 Ch. 28.4 - 28.7
Activity: "Motion in a constant B field"
Fri, 04/21/2006 J13 Third Exam
Calculus: Thursday 12:40pm - 2:00pm in Horton 215
Physics: Friday 9:10am - 11:00am in DeMeritt 104 & 106

Week 15

Mon, 04/24/2006 C26 Limits Redux II

Students are introduced to the ε-δ definition of limits, using graphs as an aid to understanding. They see some pathological examples in dealing with limits.

Reading: Stewart 2.2 and 2.5
Tue, 04/25/2006 P27 Current Loop as a Magnetic Dipole
  • See that current loops create magnetic fields similar to bar magnets.
  • See that current loops behave like bar magnets when placed near another magnet.
  • Understand that there are current loops inside all materials.
Reading: HRW7 Ch. 28.8. - 28.10 and Ch. 29.1 - 29.2
Activity: Tutorial "Magnetic interactions"
Wed, 04/26/2006 P28 Magnetic Fields and Current-carrying Wires
  • Calculate the torque on a current loop.
  • Calculate the B field due to a straight piece of wire or an arc of wire.
  • Calculate the force between two straight current-carrying wires.
Reading: HRW7 Ch. 28.9 and 29.1 - 29.3
Activity: "Torque on a current loop" and "B field due to a wire"
Thu, 04/27/2006 C27 L'Hospital's Rule I

Students are introduced to the rule and practice using it determine the limit of a function h(t)/g(t) when both h and g go to zero.

Reading: Stewart 7.7
Fri, 04/28/2006 J14 LRC Circuit

Students use their knowledge of circuits and differential equations to solve for the time evolution of an LC and an LRC circuit. At this point the inductor is a black box, since inductors are the last thing they learn about this year.

Reading: HRW7 Ch. 30.8 - 30.10 and 31.1 - 31.6
Activity: "A new circuit element"

Week 16

Mon, 05/01/2006 C28 L'Hospital's Rule II

Students are introduced to using the rule composite functions.

Reading: Stewart 7.7
Tue, 05/02/2006 P29 Ampere's Law and Faraday's Law
  • Use Ampere's law in situations of high symmetry to calculate the B field.
  • See that changing magnetic flux induces a current.
  • Calculate how much current is induced in a given situation.
Reading: HRW7 Ch. 29.4 - 29.6 and 30.1 - 30.3
Activity: "Applying Ampere's law"
Wed, 05/03/2006 C29
Thu, 05/04/2006 P30 Lenz' Law
  • Predict the direction of induced current in a given situation.
  • Understand the role of inductors in a circuit.
Reading: HRW7 Ch. 30.4 - 30.12
Activity: Tutorial "Lenz' law"
Fri, 05/05/2006 C30 Calculus Review

Week 17

Mon, 05/08/2006 P31 (Last day of classes) Physics Review - Magnetism
Tue, 05/09/2006 N07 Reading Day
Wed, 05/10/2006 N08 Reading Day
Thu, 05/11/2006 N09 Finals
Fri, 05/12/2006 N10 Finals

Week 18


last update (KP): Tue Apr 25 12:14:24 EDT 2006
Mon, 05/15/2006 N11 Finals
Tue, 05/16/2006 N12 Finals
Wed, 05/17/2006 N13 Finals
Thu, 05/18/2006 N14 Physics Final
8:00 - 10:00 in Conant 101